Prof. Ruben Seroussi

Music Theory

Ruben SEROUSSI, is a composer and guitarist, born in Montevideo, Uruguay January 1st, 1959, settled in Israel in 1974. He finished 'magna cum laude' his composition studies at the Rubin Academy of Music of the Tel Aviv University under the guidance of Leon Schidlowsky. His works, for various musical formations, have been performed in Israel by the best performers and orchestras, and are frequently performed abroad by well known ensembles, such as the Ensemble Modern, Ensemble Oriol, New Juilliard Ensemble, Cuarteto Latinoamericano, Continuum New York, Moscow Studio for New Music, Ensemble Mosaik in Chicago, Köln, Berlin, Dresden, Thessalonika, New York, Luxemburg, Bern, Budapest, Helsinki, Stuttgart, Hamburg, London, Moscow, Ljubljana, Madrid, a.o. Important distinctions include: ISCM selection representing Israel in Warsaw 1992, two ACUM prizes in 1992, a prize in the competition for an orchestral work held by the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra in 1993, the Prime Minister Prize for Composition in 1995 and the ACUM Prize for Life Achievement in 2012.

       In addition Seroussi is an active concert guitarist, who plays as recitalist, in chamber formations and as soloist in Israel and abroad. He has also recorded for such labels as Nuova Era and Meridian Records. Ruben Seroussi is on Faculty at the Buchmann-Mehta School of Music, Tel- Aviv University, acting as Head of Composition Studies since 2004.



Cohen, I. /Shapira B. - Ruben Seroussi in 'Ne'imei Zmirot Israel'

("The Heirs of the Psalmists") pp.411-12, Am Oved Publ. Lmtd. Tel Aviv, 1990

Kupsch T. - Ruben Seroussi in 'Komponisten der Gegenwart' text + kritik , Munich, August 1998 (Actualization by W. W. Sparrer 2010)

Seter R. - Ruben Seroussi, entry in The New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, edited by S. Sadie, Macmillan Publishers Ltd., 2000

Shaked  Y. -  Zeitgenössische Musik in Israel:jüdisch? – mediterran?- neu      

in: Eckhard J., Zimmermann H. – Jüdische Musik? Frembilder –Eigenbilder pp. 269 - 288,  Böhlau Verlag, Köln,  2004                  

Tischler A - A Descriptive Bibliography of Israeli Composers, Harmony Park Press, 2011

(includes full list of Seroussi’s compositions and first performances)




* MII -CD-24 The New Israeli Woodwind Quintet:

Rondo (1988)& works by Radzynski, Partos, Avni and Shidlowsky, Israel, 1999

* Beth Hatefutsot Series BTR 9902

  "Like the Leaden Sky" The Terezin Ghetto Remembered:

  "A Victim from Terezin" (1995), Mira Zakai- Reciter and Musica Nova Consort, Israel, 2000

* Recorded and projected for release in short:

   Ensemble Meitar: “The Yearnings of the Duck...In Memoriam  Dudu Geva” (2009), "Ce discret charme…Hommàge a Luis Buñuel" (1990), Jazz à propos de Matisse (1991), oppositive is positive (2013), Through the keyboard… (2011)

* NUOVA ERA 7225 Ruben Seroussi -Guitar Masterpieces of the XXth Century

Works by Takemitsu, Martin, Chávez, Britten, Ehrlich & Villa Lobos

Italy, 1996

* MERIDIAN RECORDS, CDE 84566: Lior Eitan - Piccolo, Ruben Seroussi – Guitar

Works by Bach, Mozart, Beethoven and Schubert (all arr. by Ruben Seroussi)

UK, 2009

* THE EIGHT NOTE, Israel: “Chance Encounters” Noam Buchman – Flute, Ruben Seroussi – Guitar (Music by A. Piazzolla)

Israel, 2010

Youtube (selection): Works


Youtube (selection): Guitar Performance

Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>